Cleaning Up Christmas: Inside

As I ever so casually mentioned in my last post, Christmas was kind of a thing for me this year. Not in the a-typical warm and fuzzy family way, but in the I have sever food intolerances and here I am eating cream like it’s nobody’s business kinda way. 

But the reality is, I think, that most people feel like total ass after Christmas because really all you do is gorge on food and booze for 3 days. Then you get another 5 days or so to roll around in bed holding your belly…

Annnnd I'm back where I started...
Annnnd I’m back where I started…

And then BAM! New Years Eve. Bust of the champagne mother fuckers, this bitch is getting Le wasted! 

New Years popping champagne

No, I haven’t forgotten this is a health blog haha. I’m just being real. This is what happens to me so I am sure it’s happened to some of you. 

I’ve recently realized that I have spent a lot of time learning how to recoup when I go astray. Discussing the path to a happy tummy after the Christmas aftermath has been a repeated conversation between my friends and I over the last couple weeks. 

Here are a few things I found online and tested out between Christmas and New Years:

1. TWO DAY MINI DETOX

http://17ddblog.com/2-day-post-holiday-detox-infographic/

I don’t know about you but I find juice detoxing a bit too extreme for me in the winter. I need substance. The shift from a lot of food to zero food is drastic and my body is too sensitive for that noise. 

So I followed this two-day mini detox strictly for the allotted time (actually more so because I cut out the yogurt and mushrooms) and then kept going for a couple more days with the help of some slight adjustments. 

No word of a lie my tummy was thanking me off the bat on day one and by day two my digestive system was working like a boss. I was quite surprised. 

During the extra days I did make a few adjustments just to spice things up a bit…literally 😉

  • First I added ground chia seeds and hemp hearts to my smoothies.
  • For my chicken breast (which was free range of course) I alternated between lemon pepper chicken, a special spice mix I made up on the fly that turned out to be amazing and a homemade curry chicken – I need diversity in my life man.
  • I also added heaps of raw pine nuts and flax seeds to my salad.
  • For the dressing I made a mix of olive oil, apple cider vinegar (ACV) and the tiniest bit of stevia.
  • Oh and I also substituted asparagus for grilled Brussel sprouts with fenugreek leaves because I couldn’t find asparagus annnnnywhere.

For the record, no I was not using lemon pepper spice mix. It may seem yum but it’s got all kinds of secret bad stuff in it. I’m talking fresh squeezed lemon juice and ground pepper all the way here. 

The spice mix I made consisted of black cumin seeds (man these are crazy delicious), turmeric and a bit of cayenne pepper. I added them all into my mortar and pestle, plus a bit of water and muddled the spices until it was a watery paste. When I added this to my chicken the outcome was stellar! 

2. DETOX BATH

detox bath

The detox bath I found online consisted of:

2 cups Epsom Salts

1 cup Baking Soda

1/2 cup ACV (but I used a full cup because I was feeling super bloated)

1 table-spoon ground Ginger

6-10 drops Tea Tree Oil (there’s the option to substitute this for lavender or eucalyptus oil as well) 

And the hottest water you can possibly stand. 

It was recommended to soak for a minimum of 20 minutes. I soaked until the water got cool – so about an hour or 2.5 Sex in the City episodes (ya I bring my laptop in the tub with me! Short attention span…right here). 

It was also advised to have water handy to drink because you sweat quite a bit. That was a good call…don’t forget the water. You’ll crave it after 10 minutes lol.  

I did the bath detox on the first day of the mini food cleanse and YEAH, I could actually feel myself ever so slightly deflate.. kinda like a balloon with a little hole right by the base.

WORD: I kinda smelled like vinegar after but I didn’t taste like it (I gave my arm a test lick lol) but all in all that shit worked. 

The bath was pretty hardcore and I think used in conjunction with a stronger dietary detox the results would be incredibly good. In my mind however, this was more of a re-set cleanse then it was a hard detox. 

But it was exactly what I needed and I felt so so good after. 

BENEFITS REFERENCE: In case you are wondering, here are some of the health benefits for the substitutes I added to the food detox:

Chia Seeds –  boosts energy, aids digestion, lowers cholesterol and stabilizes blood sugar 

Hemp Seed Hearts – high in protein, vitamin E rich and increases metabolic rate 

Black Cumin Seeds –  aids digestion, reduces fluid retention and cleanse and tones liver 

Cayenne Pepper – aids digestion, eases upset stomaches and supports the detox process

Turmeric – anti-inflamitory, high in antioxidants and combats depression (Ya because you know – not only are you bloated but you’re depressed about it!) 

Raw Pine Nuts – boosts immune system, aids in weight loss (thanks pinoleic acid), high in protein and  magnesium 

Flax Seeds – high in fibre and omega 3 fatty acids

Brussel Sprouts – high in vitamin C, fibre, folic acid and antioxidants  

Fenugreek Leaves – reduces cholesterol, stabilizes blood sugar levels, aids digestion and counters acid reflux 

And here are some of the benefits of the ingredients in the detox bath:

Epsom Salts – high in magnesium and sulfates which are easier absorbed through the skin ingestion, flushes toxins and heavy metals from the cells and eases muscle pain 

Baking Soda – aids in detoxifying and alkalizing your system 

ACV – reduces inflammation (Bloat be gone!) and rebalances PH levels

Ground Ginger – reduces inflammation and acts as an antioxidant 

Tea Tree Oil – reduces inflammation and eases joint pain

So There you have it people. If you’re still feeling the effects of too much food and party over the holidays I’d recommend giving these a go!  

NEXT UP: Ummmm I think we might talk about meditation…or my 3 month fitness boot camp which starts tomorrow! 

Leave a Reply

